With Cooper down, would Burress fit?

Plaxico Burress said he still wants to play for the Eagles.

Now, maybe the Eagles will have some interest.

A few hours after Burress was on a local radio station expressing his desire to play in Philadelphia, word out of Eagles training camp was Riley Cooper had suffered a broken collarbone.

“I think everybody knows I’d like to be a Philadelphia Eagle,” Burress said. “And if that call comes, then nothing more would make me happier.”

Burress spent last season, his first since missing two seasons when he was in prison for accidentally shooting himself in the leg at a nightclub, with the Jets. He had 45 catches for 612 yards and eight touchdowns. Burress has 63 touchdown catches in his career. Even with missing two full seasons, Burress is eighth in the NFL since 2001 in touchdown catches.

“Talked to Coach Reid, heard from a few other teams,” Burress said. “Philly is high on my list. I’m just trying to find my niche.”

Burress is 6-foot-5 and has always been productive in the red zone, an area in which the Eagles have struggled in recent years. Cooper, who went down on Saturday, is 6-foot-4 and one of the bigger receivers on the roster. The Eagles also have 6-foot-3 rookie receiver Marvin McNutt from Iowa, but he’s a sixth-round pick and unproven at the NFL level.

“I don’t make the decisions,” Burress said. “If I made the decisions on where I wanted to be right now, I would say the Eagles. But I don’t make the decisions in that organization. I expressed my interest and how bad I want to become a Philadelphia Eagle, but it hasn’t happened.”

Leave a Reply

